On the ruling-class theft of infinity from the masses

13686777_10109006904058881_9023591511150209404_n

I saw a video of Kermit the Frog singing the very good song “Once in a Lifetime” by the Talking Heads and started reading people’s explanations of the lyrics on songmeanings.net, and I got immensely sad. I do my very best to keep my nose to the grindstone. The time since I moved to Austin has hurtled by. The work feels deeply valuable to me moment by moment, and I know for a fact that I am where I need to be. But still I am rarely all the way present, and my life is passing quickly. As e.e. cummings wrote, “My father moved through dooms of love.”
 
Then I read this line in someone’s explanation: “Most people always live in fear of running out of time, and they feel that they are waiting for things to get better, not realizing that everything they image will exist in the future is right in front of them.”
 
And then I became very angry. Not at that writer, but because the masses have a good reason for life to rush by them. People have a good reason to miss the infinity that is in front of their noses—we live in hell.
 
So now I am furious at this system, and at its apologists, who tell the masses that infinity is right in front of them, but then continue to advocate for this system that keeps the masses in a continuous panic, emotionally frayed at all times. The infinity really is there, it is for a fact technically available at all times. But not to those whose labor makes the world run. Not to those who weave the clothes, mine the iron, harvest the crops, and raise the children. The masses move through dooms of love. The conquest of bread and the final destruction of all ideological state apparatuses are the expropriation of infinity from those who expropriate it from the people moment after hurried moment.
