On dialectical materialism, damnation, and how crucial it is to have an overview of all 15,000 years of human history

I am so grateful I learned about dialectical materialism. It may sound bizarre but it is a great theoretical complement to my struggle to be kind wherever I can. And it makes it a lot easier to be kind to *know* that everyone and everything will be transformed. People can and do put up cold walls between each other, people can and do say wretched things to each other. It’s easy for me to get tricked by my mood, by my fear in the moment. But I know that ceaseless change is true. I know that work adds up and adds up and causes sudden shifts and jumps in improvement. Dialectical materialism gives me a steadiness it seems like Jesus gives to some other people. I know the masses are coming. I know they are infinitely creative. For me the closest thing I can think of to damnation is to be alive on this earth and doubt the masses. We do live in a very dark place and time, but to think that there is nothing on this earth, no force that will bring us out, that the exit is closed–how wretched. I can see how that could make some people so angry, at themselves, at everyone. People underestimate philosophy, but the idea of human nature that gets preached… that we are all greedy, zombies just waiting for someone they can get away with eating alive–what a perfect weapon for the ruling class to use against us. To make us afraid of each other and doubt each other. My faith in the masses has only been strengthened since I started Serving the People. But something made me believe in trying to carry out the mass line in the first place, before I was ever in a position to try. Maybe it was reading “Debt: The First 5,000 Years”–to hear how over thousands of years, again and again, with nothing, the peasants in all societies rose up to try to destroy their oppressors. Long before there was any chance of building a different society, human beings relentlessly rose up against the people who held them down and lived on their pain. That is human nature–that the oppressed struggle, that we wait, that we plan, that we won’t take it. We will never take it. There is no promise that we will reach communism, but as long as we live we will try. There is just no question about it.

